Driving Licence – is your National driving licence valid in Cyprus?

Drivers can drive with a current valid:

  • EU driving licence – until it expires.
  • UK licence – Valid while visiting Cyprus. (Visit without a visa is a maximum of 90 days). If resident in Cyprus it must be exchanged as below.
  • An International Driving Permit (IDP) together with a current valid domestic driving licence – usually until the IDP expires.
  • Article 20 of the Driving License Laws of 2001 and 2004, recognizes driver’s licences or learner’s licences issued by the EU and a competent authority of the country included in the table below and are valid.
  • The driving licences from the countries listed below are valid for visitors for a maximum of 90 days, or if resident 6 months (one hundred and eighty-five days). Then it must be exchanged for a Cyprus driving licence.
  1. Australia
  2. Canada
  3. Georgia
  4. Iceland
  5. Japan
  6. Liechtenstein
  7. New Zealand
  8. Norway
  9. Russia
  10. Serbia
  11. South Africa
  12. South Korea
  13. Switzerland
  14. UK
  15. Ukraine
  16. United Arab Emirates
  17. USA
  18. Zimbabwe